Pennsylvania requires both a State Safety Inspection and Emissions Test.
Valero Service is an official PennDOT Inspection Station and has the qualified technicians to perform these inspections together at the same time; however they are two separate tests with separate criteria, and each are designated with their own sticker upon passing. This is why you have two inspection stickers on your vehicles windshield.
Pennsylvania requires vehicle safety inspections to ensure that vehicles are maintained for safe operation. Safety Inspections can prevent vehicle failure on the highways and crashes that may result in injuries or death. As required by law, the inspection fees are posted at all official inspection stations. These fees do not include repairs to correct vehicle defects.
If your vehicle fails the State Inspection, Valero Service will inform you of what repairs are needed in order for it to pass. You can choose to have the repairs done at the original inspection station, or to take the vehicle elsewhere. If you choose to have the repairs done at Valero Service, no re-test should be necessary. If you choose to have the repairs done elsewhere (or do them yourself), and then bring the vehicle back to the original inspection station, the vehicle will have to be re-tested and a re-test fee will apply.
Pennsylvania’s Emissions Inspection Program was customized to meet specific regional air-quality issues and improvement goals while focusing on customer convenience. A great deal has been done to improve air quality in Pennsylvania; however more vehicles on the road and more miles being traveled are offsetting this progress. Vehicle emissions inspections are part of Pennsylvania’s plan to clean the air and keep it clean in the future.
If your vehicle fails the Emissions Test, Valero Service will inform you of what repairs are needed in order for it to pass. You will then need to have these repairs completed, and have the vehicle re-tested. You can either have the repairs done at Valero Service, or you can have them done elsewhere. In either case, you are entitled to one free re-test at the original inspection station, as long as you bring it back within 30 days. If you bring the vehicle back after 30 days, a re-test fee will apply